Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • March 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

My Library 2.0 odyssey

Posted by lpearle on 10 March 2009

Elizabeth’s post on Archipelago isn’t quite a meme, but I’m tossing it out there to all my readers as a “where/when/how did this happen to you”?

I think my first stop was at The Readers Vine, where I met Kar, Cam, Aravis, Jandys, Shree and others. We had a place in which to talk about our passion for books and I think that helped break the ice for me. My questions about being “out there” never really arose: I had a new identity there, yet it was purely me and my voice.

In 2001, Mark started his blog, and I started going to different pages daily – some personal faves, some professional help. Then came Bloglines, and my life got easier. During the summer of 2004 I decided to dip my toes into blogging. The impetus was two-fold: practice for creating a blog at MFPOW and to avoid clogging all my friends e-mail inboxes with my rantings and FYIs.

Did I mention KQWeb? The prototype for the AASLBlog (started in time for our 2005 conference in Pittsburgh)? No? ok, well, there you go. Somewhere in there I got interested in having our catalog at work function somewhat more like Amazon, with patron reviews and book covers. Athena (our current provider) didn’t offer these things so I migrated to Surpass. When I moved to MPOW we were again using Athena, but upgraded to InfoCenter. As Elizabeth points out, it has its problems integrating with LibraryThing (which I’d love to use for our catalog, but we’ll have to see about that).

I started to use GoodReads to track Mt. Bookpile (and immediately felt comfortable, because of its closeness to TRV)… Twitter… Storytlr… FriendFeed… Delicious. Again, the primary impulse was to get used to these things so I could integrate them at work (but one wants to be comfortable with a tool before one goes public, right?). The trick is figuring out which will be useful (I’m not seeing FriendFeed, GoodReads or Twitter as useful; Storytlr and Delicious will be a great addition!). I joined Facebook, but that had nothing to do with “practice”.

I’d love to get into Pageflakes and LibGuides, but MPOW has bought in to WhippleHill’s content management system and so we’re trying to simulate them in house (it’s not going as well as I’d like, but perhaps WH will partner with one of them and we can move on). I think that an on-line pathfinder, filled with direct links and easy-to-use widgets, will be a great way to entice students doing research (for class or pleasure).

Wikis? Nings? I don’t see those as part of my role – I’m happy to work with teachers to create them, but as part of the library offerings? Not so much. As part of my PLN? That’s a different story.

The thing is, all these 2.0 tools – all bright and shiny and Oh!Wow!Cool! as they are – aren’t really changing anything. Doug posted about the new AASL standards, and in his response to my comment, he said “And yes, today‚Äôs tres chic tools will be the gophers and CD-ROMs of tomorrow.” What needs to change is our way of interacting with our students, and thinking about how that will influence their interacting with information.

One Response to “My Library 2.0 odyssey”

  1. Elisabeth Abarbanel said

    Let’s continue this conversation – I want to use parts of it in my chapter in the book.. about 2.0/new technology and the library.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,090 other followers

