Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • November 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Post-Sandy, pre-Athena

Posted by lpearle on 7 November 2012

What, you didn’t know that the Weather Channel has decided to name nor’easters?  Well, they have.

When the lights go out and the wind is gusting at levels previously unexperienced, it’s a little scary.  Maybe a lot scary.  And when I’m scared I tend to revert to my childhood (doesn’t everyone?).  Last week, with Sandy bearing down on my town and home was one of those reversion times.  And now, with Athena on her way…  Anyway, September was a particularly difficult month for me – to be honest, October wasn’t much better – and in speaking with my mother, I called it my “terrible, horrible, no good, very bad month”.  That led her to wonder if she (or my father) had read Viorst’s book to me when I was younger… the answer is no, but that’s because I was 10 and a little beyond picture books (I was reading Lord of the Rings and Count of Monte Cristo).

That conversation, though, prompted me to send a question to my high school classmates: what was your favorite childhood book?  Of the 40 people queried, about 25 responded.  Here were the answers:

A Friend is Someone Who Likes You
Amelia Bedelia
And to Think that I Saw It On Mulberry Street
Are you my mother?
Big Sister, Little Sister
Blueberries for Sal
Caps for Sale
Chicken Soup With Rice
Corduroy
The Country Bunny
Curious George
D’Aulaire’s Book of Greek Myths
Don’t Bump The Glump
Eloise
Go Dog Go
Good Night, Moon
Goops, and How to Be Them
Green Eggs & Ham
Guji Guji
Harold and the Purple Crayon
I Had Trouble Going to Solla Sollew
Legare The Low Country Lizard
The Little Engine That Could
The Little Gold Shoes
The Littlest Angel
Make Way for Ducklings
No Flying in the House
Now We Are Six
One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish
Put me in the Zoo
Santa Mouse
The Seven Silly Eaters
Snow
The Story of Babar
The Story of Ferdinand
What Do You Say, Dear?
When We Were Very Young
Where the Wild Things Are
The Wish Tree
The Velveteen Rabbit

And a few slightly older reads:

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret
Charlotte’s Web
Go Ask Alice
Harriet the Spy

As the snow starts to fall, I’m heading to my shelves, pulling these off and reading myself into a safe space.  Suggest you do the same.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,115 other followers

