Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • August 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Getting to know you…

Posted by lpearle on 15 August 2013

Every school I’ve worked in handles new faculty differently (just as each handles the role of librarian differently – I’ve been faculty, staff, administration and something in between)., just as they handle the opening of school differently.

As my inbox fills with information pertaining to the end-of-summer/start-of-school, I’ve been wondering:

  • what orientation activities will there be? (answer – two full days, and two evening events)
  • will I get e mentor? (answer – yes, and a buddy!)
  • when will I get access to the buildings, e-mail, etc.? (answer – already got most of the access I need)
  • what additional duties will be assigned?
  • how long will it take to learn the school’s culture?
  • what makes this school different from the others? (answer – among other things, three pages of a communications style guide!)
  • when will I truly feel part of the school’s family?

And then there are the professional questions, like

  • how long before I feel the collection is in good shape?
  • what will that look like?
  • can we increase collaborative opportunities between faculty and library?
  • will there be successful integration between print and digital resources?

There are LibGuides to update, a website to maintain, tutorials/tip sheets to create, books to order and process, procedures to learn, additional programming to generate, and students and faculty to befriend and learn from.   Over the next few months, we

One Response to “Getting to know you…”

  1. I wish I could say I weren’t going through the same thing, and it’s the 3rd year in a row. I am heartily sick of the trouble with public school funding.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,112 other followers

