Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • January 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

One good thing

Posted by lpearle on 27 January 2006

This has been the Week from Hell. Actually, it’s been the week from BEYOND Hell, where ever that is.

But today… a glimmer of hope. A small ray of “things might be getting better.”

We have summer reading (some suggested, some required) here at MPOW. One teacher asked for Historical Fiction, preferably “- Set in a city between 1000 and 1500 AD – Discusses religion in some context – Christianity and Islam would be ideal – Introduces feudalism,Europe in the Middle Ages, the Crusades, and/or the Renaissance – is a good story!” I knew a great book: I could “see” it on the shelf at my parent’s house, knew the color of the cover and printing, the width of the spine and had a good idea of the title name. But… I wasn’t sure I remembered the title exactly. I haven’t read it in 30+ years.

Today, I called home. My mother went to the basement, to the third shelf down on that particular bookcase, and found the book.

As I said. A glimmer of hope.

Leave a Reply

 
