Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • March 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Am I hopelessly naive?

Posted by lpearle on 12 March 2006

Naomi Wolf is going after the teen sex book series. I’m sorry, but “yawn.” Yes, kids read them. But do they then emulate them? I think not.

Ditto, says Ben Casnocha (þ: Alice). While he divides teens into three groups, I suspect there’s more (basing that alarmingly original theory on my youthful days, which are, admittedly, rapidly receding into decades past). And, based on my working at a school, one with students in the targeted age of the teen readers, I’m gonna go out on a limb and say that my hypothesis is right. There are girls that enjoy reading this crap (and it is crap – no pretensions to being anything else but brain candy for the 10-15 year-old crowd), but wouldn’t consider acting on it, behaving like that, or even knowing someone who acted like that.

I read Harlequin romances all those years ago. I didn’t act like, or try to be, one of the heroines. I just read them and forgot about them. Ditto books by Judy Blume. And Agatha Christie. The books I do remember, the ones that really resonated with me, were books like Up a Road Slowly and Anne of Green Gables and Sensible Kate. I didn’t confuse my life with theirs, but the books made me think.

Most of the kids I’ve worked with are similar. They’ll read this stuff, but they won’t necessarily remember it, or bring it with them as they grow older. I remember the uproar over Goosebumps, and Captain Underpants.

Being an adult and pontificating about what is “good” reading and what is “damaging” reading is easy. It’s also easy to ban Bugs Bunny and Road Runner because of the violence. It’s not so easy to say “hey, I read/watched/listened to that kinds of stuff, and I’m ok.” We all know that there are who did the same and who aren’t ok. We can feel sorry for them, but let’s not blame their reading/watching/listening habits. Let’s put blame where it belongs: on parents that abdicate their responsibility to raise their children and be involved with helping them develop moral and ethical standards. On situations that are inhumane and cruel beyond our comfortable imaginings. But not on some pieces of paper.

One Response to “Am I hopelessly naive?”

  1. zocalo24 said

    It’s not so easy to say “hey, I read/watched/listened to that kinds of stuff, and I’m ok.” Bravo! The above can apply to the books Naomi Wolf is dicsussing in the article as to as to violent or ___(fill in the blank objectionable) material. I’m tied of hearing that sort of stuff. I know many who gladly admit to bein ok even if they read that sort of stuff. I read plenty of material that is objectionable for a variety of reasons and just as much that is not. It’s a shame that Wolf has taken this tack becasue i really loved her first book, “The Beauty Myth” back when.As for me, one of the few redeeming books that I’ve “read” (or at least mentioned to flk around me back in library school) is “Heather has Two Mommies”PS “Gossip Girl” is actually one of my quilty pleasures. Got hooked on it by a teenage cousin.

Leave a Reply

 
