Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • September 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Wrong Wrong Wrong Wrong Wrong

Posted by lpearle on 12 September 2006

It just works my last nerve when I read things like this. Mrs. OPL has said what I’d say, only more eloquantly (of course).

Couple that with these comments, and you can see why I’m shaking my head. Why do people equate educational innovation with destruction of libraries? I don’t get it. One message on an e-list (received today) read “I am looking to start a list of ‘must haves’ to go to a bookless-magazineless Instructional Media Center rather than a traditional library.”

We’ve left the Dark Ages of chained books and scriptorums… we scrapped our card catalogs ages ago (didn’t anyone read Nicholson Baker?)… we provide resources and outreach on a continual basis. I know no librarians that adhere to the old stereotype (although I do have a libraian named Marion on my staff).

It’s easy to make us the object of scorn, to cut our budgets and to ignore the value of print (aka “old fashioned”) resources.

What do we have to do to change this?

Leave a Reply

 
