Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • November 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Go S.L.O.W.

Posted by lpearle on 10 November 2006

People that know me are always amazed that I don’t have a high-speed connection at home. There are times (like the upcoming Winter Break, or this weekend) when it would be handy, but for the most part, I don’t do so much on-line that I need speed.

When I start thinking about ways to get a higher speed at home, it’s usually because I have a lot of work I want to get done. Then a little voice says, “Let’s think about this.”

Let’s think about going faster and getting more done. Sounds good, right? Sounds productive. Sounds responsible. Sounds like I won’t get the most important stuff done: relaxing. Reading. Resting. Playing with The Boys. Being with friends.

And that stops me dead in mid-dial to Optimum (or Verizon or whatever). Because ever since I got mono a few years ago (and let’s not talk about why someone in their 40s got mono, or go over the 2+ years it took to get it out of my system but not really out of my system) I need down time. I need time to relax and think and sleep and read and do all those other slow things. If I don’t, I end up sick. And tired. Or sick and tired. But not healthy, and certainly not able to work to the best of my potential at the one place I do have high speed: MPOW.

There’s a whole slow movement out there… maybe it’s time more of us hopped (slowly, of course) onto that bandwagon and stopped worrying about VOIP and T-1 connections and working way past quitting time.

3 Responses to “Go S.L.O.W.”

  1. waltc said

    Good comment. I didn’t go broadband until last year–and then mostly because it was (and is) cheaper than sticking with dialup, and I don’t have to deal with the whole connection routine when some program just needs to grab something off the internet.The key: Having connectivity doesn’t require you to use connectivity all the time: My home computer is still off typically 22 hours a day. Slowing down at times is good for the health.

  2. Aravis said

    Valid points. I’m glad I made the switch though. A faster connection allows me to finish up projects on the internet faster, which in turn allows me more free time to do the things I enjoy on or off of the computer. I can’t tell you how much time I save on page loading alone. No more waiting forever for a graphics-rich site or video to load. I would never willingly go back to dial up.

  3. LydiaM said

    Wow, it’s good to know someone else on the planet still has dial up. I’m in no rush either, and don’t feel I need the speed at home, but the better half will probably switch once we move.

Leave a Reply

 
