Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • January 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

MySpace/YourSpace

Posted by lpearle on 23 January 2007

I’m sitting in the OCLC Symposium about social spaces (for a precis, go here or here) . The thing I kept coming back to is: what is happening to privacy? More specifically, who owns “me”?

There was a discussion about this on LM_NET: is it ok to resend messages from an e-list to others (let’s face it, 15,000 readers doesn’t count as “private”)? Let’s widen that: what about a blog post? The URL to a website? Ken Jennings gets asked about the MySpace people with his name. What about a Wikipedia article?

My high school philosophy teacher used to say “your right to punch me ends where my nose begins” – where’s the edge between private and public? Much of our on-line social interaction is like the old-fashioned party line, in that we presume privacy that isn’t really there.

More than that, when we are on-line we’re often multitasking. I’ll check my e-mail and Bloglines while cooking dinner. I’ll write a memo and do complete a book order. You get the picture. Where’s the mindfulness in this?

If I’m mindful of what I’m doing, if I’m careful about what I put “out there”, then some of these privacy issues will resolve themselves. I hope.

3 Responses to “MySpace/YourSpace”

  1. Sherri said

    Once upon a time, in my early online phase, I thought there was such thing as online privacy. I am wiser now. I assume that anything I write and send over the internet may become public knowledge. With that assumption in mind, I sometimes simply don’t say things.

  2. Lazygal said

    Yes, Sherri, but you’re an adult. My students are no where near as sophisticated and they don’t “get it” (or don’t care, which is worse).

  3. […] or a web exchange with another school halfway around the world – is a great thing. Extending one’s sense of self and expression by blogging, sharing information by creating a wiki, using Geometers Sketchpad or […]

Leave a Reply

 
