Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

September rituals

Posted by lpearle on 1 September 2008

It’s September… it’s Labor Day… and that must mean that School Starts Soon.

I’ve got a new outfit (actually, an old dress I can now fit into), I’ve updated my planner and bought new supplies and… I’m having sleepless nights.

A friend at MPOW says that he, too, doesn’t sleep well, and this after 38 years teaching. I mentioned this to our Head of Upper School, and he said that to him, that’s a good thing. To him, it means that we aren’t complacent about our jobs and our students, that we’re anxious about what impact we’ll have on the young lives in our care and how they’ll affect us in return. I’ll buy that. The Emeritus Professor of Theoretical Physics (aka “Dad”) said that he, too, couldn’t sleep before a semester started – even after more than 40 years teaching.

So, there’s a part of me that realizes it’s all part of the ebb and flow of the school cycle. Soon I’ll be hearing about what books the students read over the summer, sharing with them my favorites and suggesting read-alikes. I’ll be working with teachers on research projects, and assisting students as they become independent learners. All this on only 3-4 hours real sleep over the past two nights.

To sleep… perchance to dream…

One Response to “September rituals”

  1. Aravis said

    As a student facing the commencement of a new semester, I can vouch for the fact that the students are passing sleepless nights as well.Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
