Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • April 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Updates

Posted by lpearle on 18 April 2010

UPDATE ONE

Chris Harris wrote the DDC is Killing our Libraries – and I have to say that I’m in partial agreement with him (did you look at my YALSA and ALLA presentations?)  I used to do a huge DDC unit, but over the years I’ve decided that all my students need to know is:

  • the information on the shelves is organized in a certain way; this is not the only way to organize information
  • if you know the basics (the hundreds) it can speed up your use of the catalog – if you are looking for information on Renaissance Europe politics, you can ignore the books in the 700s.

As the presentations indicate, we’re changing things at Hackley.  The goal is to make it easier for students to find information, not to adhere rigidly to some century-old guidelines being interpreted by humans at the Library of Congress.  But getting rid of DDC entirely?  Not going to happen.  At least, not in the near future.

UPDATE TWO

Voting for the upcoming ALA elections is going slowly.  In some ways, this is similar to the census: one in three people did not return their census forms, and one in five members (or perhaps it’s one in six members) haven’t voted in the elections.  Shame!

UPDATE THREE

LizB and I has a brief twitter session yesterday, when she tweeted that in some communities the thinking seems to be that

I’ve been thinking about this, particularly since I’m guilty of not really knowing what my local public school board is thinking in terms of budget, staffing and library resources. Why should I, when you think about it, as I don’t have children? Why shouldn’t I, when this is a critical issue of access to resources for our students? That’s the critical part – the part that I suspect many older, or childless, taxpayers ignore: we need to be aware of the fallacy of duplication of library services.  Particularly when both public and school libraries are under the budget ax.
UPDATE FOUR

Ok, this isn’t really an update, it’s more of a reality check.  This week I got to teach research to some of our English 11 students – I created a LibGuide, walked them through using Noodletools, and hoped for the best.  Yes, I get a little excited about getting out of the library and in to the classroom, and yes, spring fever is affecting the school.  I also happen to be friends with the former nanny of a current student… and that student posted on Facebook about the class (something about how cool I thought I was that I was teaching the class about research).  It’s good to remember that even the kids that seem to be enjoying our classes, that seem to be responding to our Words of Wisdom and Sage Advice may find us somewhat foolish.

Leave a Reply

 
