Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Also Reading…

Posted by lpearle on 6 August 2012

In addition to the books I’m reading for the YALSA Excellence in Non-Fiction book award, I’ve been reading a number (large number) of other books in all genres and for all age levels.  When I posted on Facebook that I’d hit last year’s Books Read total (250), Karyn Silverman asked me to “tell [her] what’s at the top of [my] list in terms of actual quality writing from the 2012 YAs”.  Going through the list of what I’ve read, I was able to pull out the ones that received 5 and 4 star reviews.


What’s the different?  5 means “I loved this, it was amazing, possibly not perfect but I’m overlooking any quibbles”; 4 means that there were quibbles or something that just didn’t change my world.  So, without further ado, here’s my list of YA books, linked to my GoodReads reviews:

Five Star Books

Bitterblue, Kristin Cashore
Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein
A Confusion of Princes, Garth Nix
The Diviners, Libba Bray
The Drowned Cities, Paolo Bacigalupi
Every Day, David Levithan
The Fault in Our Stars, John Green
If Only, Carole Geithner
Lost Girls, Ann Kelly
Revived, Cat Patrick

Four Star Books

The Cabinet of Earths, Ann Nesbit
Carnival of Souls, Melissa Marr
Chopsticks, Jessica Anthony
Darth Paper Strikes Back, Tom Angelberg
Deadweather and Sunrise, Geoff Rodkey
Drama, Raina Telgemeier
The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom, Christopher Healy
I Hunt Killers, Barry Lyga
In A Glass Grimmly, Adam Gidwitz
Messy, Heather Cocks
Money Boy, Paul Liu
Monstrous Beauty, Elizabeth Fama
Pink Smog, Francesca Lia Block
The Raven Boys, Maggie Steifvater
Three Times Lucky, Sheila Turnage
The Watcher in the Shadows, Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Wonder, P.J. Palacio
127 Hours on the Moon, Johan Harstad

So there you have ’em.  Of course, there are many, many books still to be read (310 on what I fondly call Mt. Bookpile right now!).  What are you reading?  What’s really rocking your world this summer?

Leave a Reply

 
