Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • February 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    2425262728  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Sleep Deprived in Seattle

Posted by lpearle on 4 February 2013

In addition to my final ENFYA committee meeting (and the incredibly exciting Youth Media Awards, where our winner took two other medals), there was much to do in Seattle.

As I always try to do during conferences, I spent time with non-librarian friends outside the confines of the professional bubble (you know there’s a problem when you meet people on your way home and they’re wondering 1. what day it is and 2. if anything has happened “out there”).  First up, before things started, was breakfast at the Hi Spot Cafe  in the charming neighborhood of Madrona  with my friend Patrice.  We had wonderful food and coffee (it is Seattle, after all) and chatted for three hours.  Then she drove me around Cap Hill and a few other neighborhoods before alighting at  her favorite used bookstore, where she was looking for a specific Middle Eastern cookbook.  They didn’t have it, but I did, so as soon as I got home I popped it in the mail to her.

Sunday gave me a few hours with Nancy and her husband.  We traipsed through the Ballard Farmer’s Market, where I wished I could bring home with me so many items (colored beets! incredible jams! amazing chocolates!) but… well… maybe next time.  It was a little drizzly, so we stopped for tea at Miro Tea, where I found my new favorite drink: a London Fog Latte (aka a latte made with Earl Grey tea).  Then we drove around a little, looking at other areas and architecture and ended our time together at Chocolati with some incredible European sipping chocolate.

When everything was over, I had six hours before heading to the airport for my redeye home (ugh).  Luckily, Wendy also had free time and we went to The Crumpet Shop, walked (in the rain!) to Twice Sold Tales to poke around and get a fix of cat cuddling and finally for an early dinner at Le Pichet (more hot chocolate). Perfect way to end my time there….

But it wasn’t just all fun and chocolate!  Because this is a Meeting, not a Conference, there weren’t too many sessions I could attend (and those I could were often at inconvenient times) so I contented myself with going to many publishers book sessions and the RUSA awards.  Yes, I picked up many, many books – 70 overall, 9 of which I’ve already read:

photo

Trends?

Death.  Sometimes funny, sometimes tragic, but death.  Examples?  Dead is a Killer TuneScorchForgive Me, Leonard PeacockThe Finish-up List. Boy Nobody. Death, Dickinson, and the Demented Life of Frenchie Garcia.

Dystopia. Even though the publishers recognize that we might be “dystopianed out”, they’re convinced that this one is different. Examples? Dualed. Middle Ground. When We Wake.

What I’m excited to read. The new Stephen Dobyns (I loved his Saratoga/Charlie Bradshaw series and Church of Dead Girls, so that he finally has a new one…).  The new Camilla Lackburg. Kent Haruf’s Benediction, The City’s Son (sounds like Gaiman’s Neverwhere for YA).  The Astor Orphan.

While I may not hit last year’s 400 books, with this group I know I’ll have a great time attempting it!

Leave a Reply

 
