Conferences, School Libraries

Real World, Real Tools – #ALA2013

Going to ALA’s Annual Conference is always a great time for me to learn, especially from those in situations unlike my own.   I’ll attend sessions provided by other divisions because even though I’m not in an academic or public library, or work that heavily with technology, I can take ideas and think about how they might be used in my professional life – or what the trickle down/trickle sideways effect might be.

A few times I’ve been honored to give back, to share what I’ve learned with others.  This year, it was a preconference with Wendy Stephens and Deb Logan, focusing on how to navigate/negotiate real world situations.  Sadly, all to frequently what our professional organizations and pre-service educators tell us is, well, not based in reality.  Our goal was to share the Wisdom of the Room, because even though we’re in different schools there’s so much we can learn from each other.

Here’s my main presentation, on Administration:

There was going to be a follow-up section that pulled everything together into a wiki, but that didn’t happen.  What did happen was a GoogleDoc – livescribed notes and links from the session.  Please feel free to add your wisdom and real world tools.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.