Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • June 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Difficult year

Posted by lpearle on 21 June 2016

I know, I know: I disappeared.  Because reasons.  One reason, one I’m still struggling with, is that there was a lot of death in my professional circles this year – and when you have to go in every day, not allowing the outside to influence how you are interacting with  students and your colleagues…

Last year I mentioned a former colleague who had passed.  His memorial was the second or third weekend of school.  A couple of weeks later, there was a memorial for  a woman I’d worked with at PCS.  Then I heard about the very unexpected death of a tech guy whom I’d never worked with but who was an integral part of the NYCIST group and a man I greatly admired for his sense of humor, sense of decency and his approach to technology. This gentle man had just retired, was on vacation with is family (including young children).

A few months later, another tech guy died.  Here was someone whose ideas were not mine, but whose passion and commitment I admired greatly (and he was a serious Red Sox/Celtics fan – always a plus for this Boston-born gal!).  Mother’s Day Weekend I read (on Facebook, of course) about the death of a beloved teacher of mine, one who helped make me who I am.  And then, last week, came news of the death of the Head of Hackley School.

As you can imagine, my heart has been very heavy this year.  There’s a lot of good to share, and starting today I’ll be with friends and mentors at the AISL Summer Institute and ALA Annual.  So stay tuned.  But while you’re waiting, tell the people in your life that you admire, that you love, who have changed you in some way how much they mean to you.  Before you can’t.

2 Responses to “Difficult year”

  1. ecahoy said

    When you mentioned the Red Sox, I thought of George Orio immediately… and it was George. So sad. I had no idea he had passed away. I loved working with him at Sacred Heart. I’m sorry you’ve dealt with so much loss this year, Laura.

  2. lpearle said

    Thanks. George was actually not the Sox fan I was mentioning (had I known, I’d have admired him even more!)

Leave a Reply

 
