Venn Librarian

Reflections about the intersection of schools, libraries and technology.

  • Tag This!

  • October 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Prior Posts

  • Copyright

Embrace Your Tribe (or not)

Posted by lpearle on 23 October 2010

I’m here, at work, rather than at the 2010 SLJ Leadership Summit and reading the tweets from friends and colleagues and inspirations from afar.  I’m still not convinced that live-tweeting a conference (ok, ok, a summit) is a good thing, and I do feel vaguely voyeuristic when I read about their pre-travel preparations.

Maybe I’m overreacting, but the idea that we librarians are a tribe, or a people, bothers me.

Granted, I’ve been part of a tribe since before I was born so perhaps I’m not feeling the need to embrace a new one.

I also wonder about this obsession with reclaiming words. The “n-word” for example, or the “c-word”, have been used, abused, proudly hailed and a host of other in-betweens for years. It’s supposed to lessen the sting of the word, I guess. But “geek”?

Many of my friends are geeks (or nerds) and I’ll proudly include myself in their number, but really? We need geek swag? Call me a curmudgeon, say I don’t get it, whatever, but really, it’s just too much.

2 Responses to “Embrace Your Tribe (or not)”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Laura Pearle, Laura Pearle. Laura Pearle said: : http://wp.me/pJFEm-11P […]

  2. […] a bit of notice.  Gwyneth is also one of the members of the Geek Squad/Geek Tribe, about which I’ve posted before.   As luck would have it, I spent the other evening with one of my former students, a classical […]

Leave a Reply

 
